This used to be such a big day!

You know this used to be a big day…the day I got married! I celebrated that day for 16 years and spent the last 5 in a mix of emotions on this day.

But this morning on this day…it didn’t really feel like anything. It felt done and distant and so far removed from who I am today. I shuddered as I thought what it would be like to be with him in the midst of this pandemic and felt so much relief…and yes gratitude.

I am thankful he was a part of a my life and I am thankful he is no longer a part of my life (other than a bit of co-parenting). There are no more tears for what could have been, just appreciation for what is.

This day is just a day like so many others…a day filled with love, with work and with a life that is good. Now that is worth celebrating!!

images

Leave a comment